CIMRO DAYS 2018 | New Generation Focus

The third edition of CIMRO DAYS wishes to promote the next generation of Romanian musicians – composers, musicologists, performers – while integrating Romanian new music in a non-academic and casual context.

All events on June 18-19 2018 are held at the National “George Enescu” Museum, whom we thank deeply for the partnership in this adventure.


DAY 1 | Monday, June 18th


18:00 Conversational colloquy: Silence and Sounds in Romanian Music


Vlad VăideanExploitation of Silence in the Music of Anatol Vieru and Tiberiu Olah

Ana-Maria CazacuStylistic and Aesthetic Dimensions of the String Quartet in Wilhelm Georg Berger’s Vision  

Benedicta PavelWilhelm Georg Berger – the Integrally Chromatic Chorale and the Organ Symphonies  

Desiela IonDumitru Bughici: Classical Forms and Jazz in Romanian Music


19:00 Book (RE)Launch: 

Irinel AnghelOrientations, Directions, Currents in Romanian Music from the Second Half of the XXth Century –Eikon Publishing House, Bucharest

Special Guest: musicologist Oleg Garaz (Cluj)


19:30 SonoMania: ORIGAMI 


Valentin Ghita (oboe), Mihai Pintenaru (clarinet), Tamara Dica (viola)


Mihai MăniceanuBicephalous for oboe and clarinet

George BalintDa viola for viola

Dora CojocaruRed Rouge Rot for oboe

Gabriel Mălăncioiu – Clavirgus for clarinet and viola

Viorel MunteanuInvocazioni for clarinet

Carmen CârneciOrigami II for oboe

Dan DediuViermi de măr II / Apple Worms II for clarinet and viola


DAY 2 | Tuesday, June 19th


18:00 Acoustic & Electronic Concert: PRESS.PLAY

Performing: Andrei Petrache, Alin Chelărescu, Bogdan Pintilie (piano)


Andrei Petrache – Piano Suite Autobiografeme (WP, 2018): 1. “Exam Session”; 2 “Moonwatching”; 3. “With the Insect in the Room”; 4. “Night Glisters”; 5. “Urban Centrifuge”

Alexandru Simades vagues for tape (RP, 2018)

Alin ChelărescuGisicgeis Sonata nr. 1 for piano (2017)

Constantin BasicaMonitoring Dreams for tape (RP, 2014)

Bogdan Pintilie – Piano Suite Feelings and Wits (2017): 1. “Interrupted Melancholies”; 2. “Anger and Appeasement”; 3. “The Reason of the Heart”


19:00 Score Launch: The NUMB Publishing House

Doina RotaruVivarta for string quartet

Gabriel AlmaşiFuneral Music for string ensemble

Christian BergerInvocation for organ and Sonata for solo violin

Tudor FeraruIn Black and White, 10 miniatures for piano

Gabriel MălăncioiuHommage à George Enescu for violin


19:30 Duo Cello Jaya & Iulian Ochescu: SWITCH ON – SWITCH OFF 


Ella Bokor (cello), Mircea Marian (cello), Iulian Ochescu (piano)


Diana RotaruLut / Clay for 2 cellos

Dan PopescuDoppelgänger for 2 cellos (WP)

George Enescu – “Pavanne” from Suite no. 2 op. 10 in D major for piano

Sebastian AndroneFresco meets Baldi for 2 cellos

George Enescu – “Melody” from Pièces Impromptues op. 18 for piano

Mariela RodriguezSwitch on – Switch off for 2 cellos

Tudor FeraruIn Black and White, 10 miniatures for piano (fragments): “Choral über den Namen Maria Christina”, „Dark Serenade for Fair Joanna”, „Hommage”

Vlad Răzvan BaciuThe Nightmare of Light for 2 cellos (WP)

Aurelian BăcanA Glimpse of The Star Trek Universe 2 cellos and piano (p.a.a.)


Artistic Director: Diana Rotaru

Organizer: The Romanian Music Information Center of the National University of Music in Bucharest

Partner: The National “George Enescu” Museum in Bucharest

Graphics: Maia Manolescu, Serioja Bocsok