Opera 9 – Contemporary Oedipus

The National “George Enescu” Museum continues its ongoing project of stimulating young composers to write variations on a given theme from Enescu’s extended work. OPERA 9 is a collective opera, with 9 scenes written by 9 different composers – Gabriel Mălăncioiu, Sebastian Dumitrescu, Adina Sibianu, Cristian Bence-Muk, Megumi Okuda, Diana-Iulia Simon, Alexandru Sima, Diana Rotaru, Sabina Ulubeanu – on a contemporary version of the tragic story of Oedipus. The libretto is written by Rucsandra Pop, the main source of inspiration being, of course, Enescu’s masterpiece, the opera Oedipe.

OPERA 9 is part of the ongoing N-ESCU project coordinated by composer Adina Sibianu. The first performance of this new modular opera will take place on May 9th 2017, at the Cantacuzino Palace (home of the “Enescu” Museum – Calea Victoriei 141) at 7 p.m.

Performing as soloists are two of the most active and appreciated singers in Romania, Iustinian Zetea – Bass (Oedipus) and Antonela Bârnat – mezzosoprano (Jocasta, Merope, Antigone and Oculist), as well as SonoMania New Music Ensemble, conducted by Vlad Agachi: Valentin Ghita – oboe, Mihai Pintenaru – clarinet (as well as the part of the Sphinx), Raluca Stratulat – violin, Tamara Dica – viola and Emanuela Profirescu – piano.


Prologue – Adina Sibianu (Bucharest) for ensemble

Lullaby – Gabriel Mălăncioiu (Timişoara) for mezzo and tape

Oraclify – Sebastian Dumitrescu (Finland) for bass, ensemble and tape

The Death of Lajos – Cristian Bence-Muk (Cluj) for bass, mezzo and ensemble

Sphinx – Megumi Okuda (Bucharest) for clarinet, violin and viola

Psychodania – Diana Simon (Bucharest) for mezzo and tape

Technologic Contagion – Alexandru Sima (Bucharest) for ensemble

Oculus – Diana Rotaru (Bucharest) for bass, mezzo and ensemble

The Death of Oedipus – Sabina Ulubeanu (Bucharest) for bass, mezzo and ensemble

Graphics: Maia Manolescu